SportDOG Global

Write Your Own Review

Rate This Product

  1 2 3 4 5
  • Max 2000 characters.
  • * Required Fields

Review by Kendra G.
(Posted on 8/14/17)


Absolute crap
My fiance and I purchased this collar for our 1 year old black lab who we adopted from a shelter. We were having lots of behavioral issues and we weren't seeming to get anywhere with our training. When we first got this collar in the mail we were super happy. Our dog is very smart so she caught on quickly to the collar. The problem was that after a couple of days the collar stopped responding to the transmitter if she was more than about 15 or so feet away from this. We ended up having to chase her down the road because of this because the collar was not working at all. We contacted SportDog and got a new one mailed to us. It was annoying to have to wait about a week to get a new collar and just stop the training that we were in the middle of. We got the new one and it worked great for a little while. What we did not realize is that the collar and transmitter are both battery operated and therefore you need to change the batteries about every 2 weeks. When we realized this, we got new batteries but when we opened up the collar we found that there was rust inside. We contacted SportDog again and they said that they would send us a new one but we had a trip planned in a couple of days where we absolutely needed a collar on our dog. We ended up buying a PetSafe brand collar since we needed one ASAP. We LOVE the PetSafe collar and as soon as we got the new SportDog collar in the mail we returned it to where we bought it. I will tell anyone who asks to look at other brands for dog training collars.


Hello, Kendra! Thank you for taking the time to review our YardTrainer 105. We do hate to hear that you have had issues with it though. This is certainly not the experience we expect out of our products. It appears that you have a collar that is working for you and your Black Lab, and we are happy to hear that. Please know though, if you are ever in need of any training products we would like to help. If there is ever anything we can be of assistance with, please give us a call at 1-800-275-6797.

Review by Caden
(Posted on 7/9/17)


Not satisfied
I first bought it and was very happy for a short week until it broke. I was sent a replacement about a month ago and it has again stopped working.


We are terribly sorry for the negative experience you've had with your YardTrainer 105, Caden! We definitely want you to have a product that works for you and which you can depend on. If the receiver collar seems to stop working after a week or two, please ensure that you turn it off any time that it is not in use; should the collar be left on continuously, battery life will typically only be a couple of weeks. If you try a fresh set of batteries, however, and the collar is still not turning on, please give us a call back at the number 1-800-275-6797 and we would be more than happy to assist you.

Review by Cassie
(Posted on 5/29/16)


Works great for training
We have a problem with our dog bolting out of the house when the door gets opened! This has been working great for her to listen and come back with out having to chase her. Sometimes when the collar is on for a longer period of time, it shuts off on its own. I can't quite figure out why. Can anyone explain this for me and is there a way to turn it back on with the remote? We can't turn it back on by the collar is she has escaped from the house!


Thank you for sharing your experience, Cassie! We are glad to hear that the trainer has made a difference for you, but sorry to hear of the difficulty that you have experienced with the collar power. With the SD-105 the standard lifetime of the batteries is approximately 2 weeks. If the collar is shutting itself off it means the batteries are low, or that the battery tabs inside the collar housing need to be pinched inward. Simply remove the battery tray and gently pinch the tabs inward with something such as a small screw driver so that when you put a fresh set of batteries into the collar they will be pinched by these tabs more efficiently and the collar will stay on. If you have further questions or concerns, please give us a callat 1-800-275-6797.

Review by Becky
(Posted on 8/12/15)


Great products works as needed.
We bought this because our dog kept running off. We were able to easily train him and it works great. My only problem is that the button on the side fell off. I tried to glue it back on and it stuck the button down so it would keep sounding the beep. I took the glue off and was able to put the button on and it stayed for the most part. Today the kids lost the button. Our remote is virtually useless now. I would love to be able to replace the button and not have to replace the whole set up.


I'm sorry to read that you are having trouble with the side button on your remote trainer! Please know that the SD-105 is backed by a 1 year warranty with proof of purchase. To find a solution for your scenario, please call our Customer Care Center directly at 1-800-732-0144. Our office hours are Monday through Friday 8 A.M. – 8 P.M. ET and Saturdays 9 A.M. – 5 P.M. ET.

Review by andrew
(Posted on 4/25/15)


great product
Works fine for my great dane..but the batteries in the collar don't last that long about 2weeks

We're very glad to hear that the trainer is working out so well for you, Andrew, but sorry to hear that your batteries did not hold up very long. Please ensure that you either turn off the receiver collar or remove the batteries from it when it is not in use. This will definitely conserve battery life for as long as possible. If left on continuously, this will drain the battery much quicker than usual.

Review by Cindy Silva
(Posted on 3/15/15)


Very good product
I have had this collar for about 2 1/2 years for our GSD. He's wonderful but does not always listen. This collar has made him into a good walker on the leash. Thank goodness as he's very strong. We needed to replace the transmitter once and your company did it free of charge. Now I'm ready to order another as he broke the collar part today........... Great product all in all. Thank you for great service!

SPORTDOG REPLY: Thank you for your positive feedback. As pet owners ourselves, we are always happy to hear how our pet products have made you and your pet happier.

Review by Tallulah Olson
(Posted on 8/16/14)


Changed my life!
I adopted a retired champion Wire Fox Terrier who had lived his life in a kennel. I also have 3 toy dogs and Terrier wants to play and had no idea that he was terrifying them when he would "jump" them - frequently. Why it took me a few months to figure out that a training collar was in order, I have no idea. Ordered this one after hours of reading on line descriptions and product reviews. E-collars tend to stop functioning and imperative was buying one from a reputable manufacture who will stand behind their product and Sportdog is that company. I was a little apprehensive about this model because it doesn't have a vibrate feature and so many reviews I read had said that they had never even had to use the shock feature because the audio cue followed by the vibrate was enough to correct their dog's behaviour.

The collar was easy to ready for operation and I shocked my own throat until I found a level I knew would not harm or frighten my dog. It took a bit of experimentation to get the hair on his throat to a short enough length where the collar was effective but that was easy. I cannot stress enough how FEW times I have had to use the short stimulation- under 10 since I got it, and never the long shock. He got the message immediately (I added a sharp "Aggggh!" verbal warning because the word "no" means nothing to him.) and life has been a dream for me and his 3 sisters ever since. No exaggeration - this collar worked like magic for us. Now when he shows any undesirable behaviour, the audio cue and my verbal command are enough to stop it immediately. He wears the collar most days but I almost never have to use it. The collar has never bothered him nor have the prongs ever left any marks on his throat. He seems perfectly comfortable in it. I LOVE the lanyard attached to the controller which I knew I had to have when I was looking. The batteries last more than a month and are very inexpensive. I cannot praise this collar highly enough!!!!

Review by Kelly
(Posted on 5/26/14)


This is a decent collar. The range isn't as far as we need. The batteries are drain really fast.

Review by JB
(Posted on 3/20/14)


older model sd-105/s
does each transmitter have their own frequency and will they overlap and cause both receivers to respond and shock both dogs from one transmitter? or can the transmitter frequency be reprogrammed so the frequency doesn't overlap?

SPORTDOG RESPONSE: This is a great question. On most of our transmitters you can adjust the transmitter channel so that you could have 2 transmitters on the same channel if you wanted to be able to control more than transmitter to control 1 collar receiver. The SD-105/105S/350 does not offer this capability. There is around a 1 in 50,000 chance that 2 transmitters would share a channel. If this has happened to you, give us a call at 800.732.0144 and we can get you fixed up.

Gear The Way You'd Design It