Close
SportDOG Global

Write Your Own Review

Rate This Product

  1 2 3 4 5
Rating
  • Max 2000 characters.
  • * Required Fields

Review by Terry
(Posted on 10/6/17)


#


I love this product
This product works like it says, the range is incredible. I tried it driving away with the gps in the car and the collar in the house and drove about 5 km before I lost the signal one way (no mountains), the other way, there was a hill and lost the signal down the hill but got it back on the other side. Last night, I noticed that my mother in-law's dog chewed up the antenna while playing with my dog. I called tech support at 7:45pm, not only did I get an answer, I got really great polite, knowledgeable service.

The maps on it are ok, but it would be nice to be able to upgrade them to high quality maps.

I do recommend this product.

Review by Robert H.
(Posted on 6/29/16)


#


Very easy to set up and use
I am a hiker, not a hunter. I need a tracker because we are constantly in unfamiliar surroundings and no matter how much orange I put on my GSP he is hard to see in the woods. These are my observations:

1) The unit is very easy to set up. For me the most difficult part was threading the lanyard on to the handheld. The downloadable instructions are easy to find and easy to follow. For context, I am a 67 year old technical laughingstock and I had no trouble following the setup guide. It took me about 45 minutes because I am slow, but all you have to do is charge the devices, read the instructions, and then follow them.

2) I was afraid that a heavy tree canopy and ravines in the woods would prohibit the unit from receiving a signal but not so; it works very well in heavily wooded areas with deep ravines.

3) The handheld is easy to use. I played with it for about an hour prior to using it with the dog for the first time and once I got the hang of it I could navigate around it pretty easily. Think of it as being about the same as learning to navigate around a new phone; you just have to use it for a bit to develop the required "muscle memory"..

I will say that the handheld is relatively large and for me 10.6 ounces is a little too heavy to wear around my neck. It fits well enough in the pocket of my cargo pants/shorts but I think a belt clip or holster would be more comfortable and useful than a lanyard.

4) You will be amazed by how easy it is to convince people who ask about the antenna that your dog is actually a robot!

SPORTDOG RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your experience, Robert! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the TEK Series 2.0 with your German Shepherd, but sorry to hear that the weight of transmitter is a bit much for your scenario! Please know that your feedback is valuable and this will be passed along to the design team. If you have any questions or concerns please give us a call at 1-800-275-6797.

Review by Kimber Mckay
(Posted on 4/17/15)


#


Even better that I expected,and I expect a lot
You almost don't need the instructions.This system is so intuitive, set up took no time, and thing is so accurate that you can see the difference between walking down the middle of the road and walking down the side of the road. Carry the handheld while pulling a drag for scent trail,then watch and see if the dog follows the hunter's breadcrumbs trail, you can see a lot about how your dog scents and trails. Notice I said almost don't need manual? The stimulus was not set correctly so I called instead of reading the manual. The guy that answered the phone was the same one that sold me the unit,and had me set up immediately. I really do expect a lot. I am not disappointed. Tally-Ho is so much happier now that she can run free,and I have peace of mind because I am in full control of my bloodhound.Worth every penny.

Review by John Teao
(Posted on 3/3/15)


#


works well
I read the internet manual and got it after 2 tries, recommend a demonstration video or dvd accompanying the unit, gps hunting tracking sepperate from dog training, i only use the gps tracking and not the E collar option for Pighunting, great unit once you become the Master cheers.

Review by Orville White Jr
(Posted on 2/21/15)


#


TEK 2
I like my system very much it took a few times to learn it but I like.I had to learn to use a Garmin to that is what I changed from, there not that complicated works very well.

Review by Alan Montney
(Posted on 2/6/15)


#


hard for a old dog to learn new tricks
It has a lot of things that I have trouble with. I'm 61 years old and it seems to be less user friendly than I had hoped. I have put a lot of money out for something that didn't even come with a instruction book. I spend more time tying to figure it out than I do hunting. Be easier to go back to a bell.

SPORTDOG RESPONSE: Sorry to hear you are having trouble operating the system. Because of the size of the printed manual, it is available online only as indicated in the packaging materials. You can view the manual here: http://www.sportdog.com/media/downloads/400-1870_%281%29.pdf. Also, you can call us anytime at 800.732.0144 and we will help walk you through setting up and operating the system. We can answer all of your questions to make sure you can easily use your system.

Review by Alan Montney
(Posted on 2/6/15)


#


hard for a old dog to learn new tricks
It has a lot of things that I have trouble with. I'm 61 years old and it seems to be less user friendly than I had hoped. I have put a lot of money out for something that didn't even come with a instruction book. I spend more time tying to figure it out than I do hunting. Be easier to go back to a bell.

SPORTDOG RESPONSE: We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with the system. Fortunately, there is an operating guide you can find here: http://www.sportdog.com/media/downloads/400-1870_%281%29.pdf. Additionally, we encourage you to call us with any questions about the system. We can walk you through operation and make it much easier to understand. New technology can be intimidating but we've heard the user interface is quite simple once you become familiar with it. We look forward to hearing from you!

Review by T rizza
(Posted on 2/3/15)


#


Great product
I love it.

Review by T rizza
(Posted on 2/3/15)


#


Great product
I love it.

Review by Mark Johansson
(Posted on 2/3/15)


#


Works well in general, but not without its glitches
Good overall performace, but it has some glitches that you will have to live with.
Pros
1) Nice interface.
2) Great range - although i have not verified beyond a couple of miles.
3) Voice call out of your dogs distance and vector is really nice! Its great to get updates without even having to look at the device. Although; i do wish that i could make the voice a bit louder.
4) reasonably compact for having such a large range.

Cons
1) Can take a few minutes to establish coverage initially. I have seen it work in as little as 30 seconds, but i have also seen it take 4-5 minutes to get the initial readout of the dog.
2) For no apparent reason coverage will just drop from time to time. This seems to occur more often when the dog is under heavy tree cover, but that is situation that is quite common. When it drops coverage is usually returns in a minute or two, but i have on one occasion had to reboot the device to re-establish coverage.
3) The device is usually reasonably accurate (within 40 yards or so), but occasionally it will say my dog is a few hundred yards away when i can see that she is 10 yards away. Once again - this is sporadic and it recovers in a minute or two.
4) The breadcrumbs feature works well, but is way too large to be usable for me. The breadcrumbs look like roads and if your dog is crossing roads and you are looking at the breadcrumb trail you will easily confuse the roads and the breadcrumbs. I have breadcrumbs turned off for this reason.

All told i think that this is a good product. I hope that they can fine-tune things and get rid of these glitches in the next product update (or software update?)

Gear The Way You'd Design It